The Journey Goes On -a health update

Almost a year ago I began the journey/struggle/race/battle with cancer. It moved along rather quickly and smoothly (although sometimes painfully) and I looked toward the goal of life returning to normal.

That was my plan.

In August as preparation for my radiation treatment, a CT scan was done. In October after the radiation was finished the radiologist told me that they had seen a spot on my lung that concerned them. And so, in December I had another CT scan. In early January I had a bronchoscopy. In late January a needle biopsy. In February I had a diagnosis: lung cancer.

My oncologist began the appointment with, “Forget everything you’ve ever heard or thought you knew about lung cancer.” This is a different kind of lung cancer—slow growing, non aggressive, not related to the breast cancer, and treatable. And so, on March 27th the surgeon will remove most, if not all, of the  lower lobe of my left lung, taking the cancer with it.

I asked the doctor what to say to people about my breast cancer. He said “it is gone. We are treating now to prevent any return. But it is gone. Don’t think about it.”

Eventually, I may be able to say the same about the lung cancer. The prognosis is good for both.

This was no surprise to my Heavenly Father and I’ve felt His peace through all of the unknowns, the tests, and the appointments. I was surprised, but not devastated. He is in control and I can relax in Him.

Thank Him that my lungs are in excellent condition which will help with the recovery. Thank Him that it was found early, that it is not the aggressive kind, that it is not from the breast cancer, and that He has given the doctors knowledge and skill to help me heal. Thank Him for His protection and provision.

Please continue to pray for me to yield to His peace, that I will stay healthy before and after surgery, that the analysis of the lung tissue removed will be good news, and that I will heal quickly in order to help with RHMA Conference, Pre-camp Training, and TACT classes.

Your prayers and love are precious to me. How thankful I am for each of you in my life! Rejoice with me because I see God working in my life. Pray for opportunities to serve Him—and to let go of “life returning to normal.”

Lord, I am willing to receive what you give

To lack what you withhold

To relinquish what you take

To suffer what you inflict

To be what you require.

~ From an ancient hymn 

“We must have that spirit if we are to humble ourselves under God’s mighty hand and receive the grace He has promised to give.”

~Jerry Bridges

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

