Oh Deer!

Last night on my way home from a wonderful weekend in Chicago with my daughter, I hit a deer.

I was on Route 24 almost to Gridley. I’d been watching my gas gauge, hoping I’d have enough gas to make it to my favorite BP station in Gridley, because they have the cheapest prices (usually). I was driving slower than normal (under 50) to conserve the gas that I did have. It was dark at 5:30 because of the time change this weekend. Driving through the open country I suddenly saw movement to my right. Six or seven deer were jumping out of the ditch, crossing the road. At the same moment, I slammed my foot down on the brake, keeping the wheel straight as there was nowhere to go to avoid them.

One did not get out of the way in time and the car thumped into her side. She kept running as did two others behind her. The car had stopped at this point, so they got away unscathed.

I was uninjured but the adrenalin was pumping. I moved to the shoulder of the road and wondered what I was supposed to do. A couple cars drove past but did not stop. I didn’t know whom to call. The car was running fine – no blinking lights, no clanging bells, no funny sounds. Then I realized I still needed to get gas – before I ran out! So, I slowly drove to my station and filled up.

Then, I looked at the front of my car. It didn’t look too bad. The bumper was unhooked; the grill had the imprints of the impact; the hood had a scar. You could tell that the car hit a heavy object that crumpled it up a bit. No blood. A bit of hair.

Still unsure of what to do, I drove home. I just wanted to be home.

Once home I made some calls. I called my brother in Hawaii, obviously because he could help even if he couldn’t give me a hug. Then I tried to call the State Police. No answer, so I called the Washington Police Department. A very helpful lady gave me the number of the sheriff department in McClean County. I called and left a message. I called my insurance agent and left a message.

Then, I forgot about it.

Today begins all the effort of estimates, claims, and extra stuff that needs to be done.

But right now, I want to stop and thank God for His protection. This was a small thud when it very well could have been a major accident. I’ve heard stories and seen cars damaged by deer. It wasn’t luck. It wasn’t fate. It was God’s protection of me that kept me from serious injury.

And I am thankful to Him. Praise Him with me.

I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart;
    I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and exult in you;
    I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.  Psalm 9:1-2

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Deer!

  1. Chuck and Connie says:

    Isn’t God good……PTL

    _____

  2. Beth Weil says:

    John, my brother hit a cow once. It got up and went back to the field. The farmer said it was fine and showed no signs of being hurt. It is amazing how God made his creation to survive and we make cars that get crunched. 🙂 Thanking God for your safety.

Leave a Reply

