For My Birthday

Yesterday was my birthday. The last one in the decade that brought the most change into my life. The one where I realized I was growing old. I always wondered why they say you are ‘over the hill’ and now I know it’s because, physically, your life goes downhill during this decade. The affects of sin on this world also affect our aging bodies.

As I reflected last night, I chuckled at the variety of ways people wished me a happy birthday and brought a smile to my heart:

Kate began my day with a text; Karrie with a phone call.

Many friends sent their wishes on my wall on Facebook.

One messaged me on Facebook.

Several e-mailed me.

One sent an e-card.

Several sent cards with special thoughts by snail mail both at home and at work!

One came by and personally dropped her card in my mailbox. (Shhhh, don’t tell the postman.)

Two handed me a card and sang to me as they brought in cupcakes.

And Kate and I finished the day with FaceTime.

Short of skywriting, did I miss any method? Amazing how far we’ve come in ways of communication, isn’t it?

There is one more way:

Here at RHMA we send out a bi-monthly prayer bulletin. Each day has a missionary and specific prayer requests for that month or day. Yesterday was my day which meant that people, some who don’t even know me, were praying for me.

And that, my friends, is why yesterday was a great day, why my knees felt better than normal, why I was content in my day, why my heart was joyful even with the rain. It is an awesome thing to have people interceding with the Almighty God for you.

Thank you all.

“Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:16

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For My Birthday

  1. Chuck and Connie says:

    Hope your new year will be great fun and exciting. We appreciate you….

    _____

Leave a Reply

