When the Bee Stings

Saturday afternoon I was just finishing the mowing when I felt horrible stings on my left arm. Over and over a honey bee stinger pierced my skin. Natural reflexes took over and I grabbed at my sleeve with my right hand.

Not smart.

Again I felt the needle-like pain in my fingers. This had to stop. I lifted back my sleeve and the bee sat on the tips of my fingers. Then, deep throbbing pain hit and I flicked the bee off my hand and cried – holding tight and putting pressure on the pain, praying for God to stop the pain. I sat for a few minutes unsure of what to do, but knowing I had to do something to stop the pain.

Deep breaths. I drove the mower into the garage, went into the house, and sat at the computer. Google was useless. GoodSearch gave a site that said “ice” and so I grabbed the ice pack from the freezer, sat on the couch, waited and begged God to make the pain stop. Eventually the ice numbed the skin and the pain lessened. I tried all sorts of remedies to ease the pain when the numbness wore off – baking soda paste, lavender oil, peppermint oil, Tylenol, cold water, more ice. But, only one thing worked.

Time.

Throughout the evening the pain changed from deep ache to intermittent streaks of pain. By morning some swelling was still there, but the pain was almost non-existent.

And I began to wonder why. What could I learn from this painful experience, right now?

Life has been full of stings lately.

a dear friend diagnosed with cancer

a couple struggling to repair their marriage

a close friend dealing with illness and required life changes

the loss of loved ones

Hearing the news, I grab my heart to lessen the pain from the sting of fear. Of sorrow. Of sadness. Of grief.

I pray for God to stop the pain. I try all sorts of remedies. Telling God ways He can solve the problems. Willing Him to heal. Trying to forget the pain and concentrate on other things. But only one thing works.

Time.

Because in time, God works in my heart to see what He is doing.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the Lord“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.”     Isaiah 55:8

In time, I remember God’s faithfulness.

“For the Lord is good; His lovingkindness is everlasting and His faithfulness to all generations.” Psalm 100:5

In time, I remember His promises.

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

In time, the sting of this life lessens because God is so much greater. Because He has promised so much more. And nothing will keep Him from fulfilling His promises.

Not even time.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the Bee Stings

  1. Chuck and Connie says:

    Are you “all better” now?

    _____

Leave a Reply

