When Morning Gilds the Sky

My last post – A Conversation Overheard – was a bit of a downer. I didn’t mean for it to make anyone sad or to pity me. However, life isn’t all chocolate donuts and I wanted to be honest about the struggle I was enduring.

The old adage “It’s always darkest before the dawn.” seems to be coming true for me. Just after I wrote my last post I went to see the doctor. While going through the preliminaries with the nurse, we had a delightful conversation. She was sad because her daughter and family were moving to California. I was able to share with her about my daughter moving to Colorado and I encouraged her to set times when she would go to visit – taking the time off of work because family is important. We discussed Skype, Facetime, and other options. She was worried that her grandson wouldn’t know her. Again, I was able to share about a friend who lives in Taiwan and how her children know the grandparents because they take the time to visit and stay in touch. When I left the office, the nurse said, “I’m so glad you came in today.” My heart was joyful to know that God used me in her life.

As a result of the blog, I also received encouraging messages and emails from friends telling me they were praying for me. That their hearts were hurting for me. They were weeping with those who weep. I felt God’s arms of comfort surround me when I read the encouraging messages.

I knew, too, that there were many others who were praying – who continue to pray.

Two weekends ago I sat on my deck in the sunshine and let it soak into my bones. I walked around my yard and saw crocus blooming. The tulips, hyacinth, and daffodils were budding. Spring was there even though snow was forecast for Monday.

Then I drove about two hours in the sunshine to attend a training session for camp. I had dinner with a dear friend and we were able to chat and catch up on our lives. We spent the weekend with friends (and for some, family) learning and preparing for our opportunity to serve the Lord at camp this summer. Camp people are fun. Encouraging. Precious. Uplifting. Being with them was like having a joy transfusion. I felt myself beginning to smile again.

Each day with each step I am experiencing God’s faithfulness. My knee is feeling much better, my energy is coming back, the birds are singing, the flowers are blooming, and temperatures are not freezing. The way stretches out before me and I will continue to walk with Him step by step.

“He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God.”    Micah 6:8

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

