Life Lesson from a Fallen Tree

A tree fell in Washington yesterday afternoon.

IMG_0252I was racing home yesterday to beat the storm when the wind kicked up and I had some difficulty keeping the car on the road. Only a few raindrops hit the windshield before I got home, but as I got out of the car in my driveway, I heard the sirens. The storm had passed and whether it was wind, or lightning, or old age, a beautiful old tree no longer stood at the corner of Main and Holland Streets.

Our power did not go out; however, the cable did – no phone, no tv, no internet. No idea what to do.

Usually during supper I watch the news. Brett Baier and the All-Star Panel keep me company as I chew. But last night, I was alone. It was quiet. I ate my pancakes slowly. I got annoyed at my cat for begging. (“No, these are my pancakes. You don’t like maple syrup.”)

And then, I wondered what to do. I sat thinking and realized how my evenings so often revolve around the television and the computer. Could this be the reason I don’t accomplish much around the house? In the span of three short hours last night I finished the laundry (I only have one load per week.), completed camp paperwork to be mailed, straightened up my files, cut and froze a batch of rhubarb, pitted and froze 2 pints of cherries, washed the dishes, (I don’t have a dishwasher.), swept and mopped the kitchen floor, sang along with the Everly Brothers (Bye, Bye, Love, Wake Up, Little Susie), watched the first part of Middlemarch, and read a chapter in The Fellowship of the Ring.

There is still more work to be done around the house, but tonight is book club.

I’m not going to disconnect cable or disable the internet connection, but I hope I’ll remember to turn it off a little more often so that I can accomplish things that need to be done. The feeling of satisfaction (and possibly all the additional activity) made my sleep sweet last night.

Ecclesiastes 5:12 “The sleep of the working man is pleasant, whether he eats little or much; but the full stomach of the rich man does not allow him to sleep.”

IMG_0253

 

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

