Helen

A very special lady went home to be with the Lord this week. She had suffered quietly for a long time. But that was Helen. Quiet. She loved a good laugh, but never was the one out front making conversation or jokes. She was the one who stood in the back and smiled.

I first got to know her playing volleyball at our church. She had a wicked serve and I always wanted to be on her team so I didn’t have to try to return it! Narrowly missing the net, the ball would speed past you right to the floor. And she would just smile.

Helen also served every Sunday for years by teaching Sunday School. It didn’t matter what age, she loved to teach the children from the Word of God. She was a faithful servant. Even when her illness made things more difficult, she continued to serve.

When I heard that she was no longer suffering, but in the presence of Jesus, I felt a loss. A loss because I didn’t know her better. A loss because she would no longer be a part of the church. A loss because I didn’t tell her how much I thought of her.

But I also rejoiced because I know she is in the presence of Jesus. That she is no longer suffering. That she’s heard Him say, “Well done.”

 

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helen

  1. Sally Cady says:

    This a beautifu tribute! Helen was my friend all through grade school and high school. We rode the school bus together. It is neat for me to hear about her faith and how she served God in her later years. I had witnessed to her many times in her younger days.

  2. arta says:

    I am sad and happy, I agree. I wish I had told her goodby and thanked her for serving. Yes, she had a wicked Vollyball serve, I was afraid of it.

Leave a Reply

