The Percussion Section

Soggy Central Illinois.

We’ve had our fair share of rain and thunderstorms lately. The kind of storms where fingers of lightning streak through the sky and great booms of thunder make you jump – even though you know it is coming.

But last night was different.

The forecast said we were going to get severe weather. I waited. About 10:00 p.m. I heard some grumbling in the northwest. Just as I prepared for bed, swift flashes of light silently lit the night. Then distant rumbling. As the flashes intensified and quickened, the growl of thunder deepened. It was as though the percussion section of the orchestra was filled with kettle drums and the musicians were competing in the length and volume of their poundings. Thunder rolled across the sky with such force that the earth quivered from the sound.

I moved my pillow to the foot of my bed and watched the light show outside my window and felt the music in my soul. Quite a change from the little girl who used to hide under the covers when it thundered.  There is something beautiful about this type of thunder that  surrounds rather than surprises. That brings awe rather than fear. That reveals God.

Job 37:3-5 “Under the whole heaven He lets it loose, And His lightning to the ends of the earth. After it, a voice roars; He thunders with His majestic voice, And He does not restrain the lightnings when His voice is heard. God thunders with His voice wondrously, Doing great things which we cannot comprehend.”

I heard Him last night remind me of His majesty. Of His might. Of His power. I heard the rolling thunder and sang, “My God, how great thou art.”

Oh Lord, my God, when I in awesome wonder, consider all the works Thy hands have made.
I see the stars. I hear the rolling thunder. Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

Then sings my soul, My Savior, God, to Thee. How great thou art. How great thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Savior, God, to Thee. How great Thou art. 

How great Thou art!

 

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

