A Time for Refreshment

The last few months have been extraordinarily busy. I usually try to keep things under control by saying “no” occasionally. However, circumstances required that I take on a few tasks that I was not expecting on top of other projects already scheduled. After the last major project finished, I was exhausted. But life goes on.

Sitting at work on Tuesday this week, I knew I was about to break. Things at home had been left undone for too long. The grass was too long and rain was in the forecast. Plants ordered on line had arrived and had waited in their packaging for too long.

I decided to take a vacation day on Wednesday. The weather was supposed to be perfect. And it was. Although a vacation day, I didn’t spend the day lounging by the pool. I ran some errands to get the items I’d need later in the day. Then climbed on the mower and began cutting the grass down to size. All day, the Lord sent refreshing reminders of His love.

In the front yard, the crab apple tree was in full bloom and sweet scents filled the air.

Crabapples!

Who wouldn't want to swing here?

Who wouldn’t want to swing here?

As I headed the mower to the back yard, I noticed that the lilacs were in bloom! I’ve always been intrigued by the secret garden and garden rooms at the Chicago Botanic Gardens. When my brother moved back in 1997, we purchased many trees and bushes to make our backyards less of an old horse pasture and more of a garden. The best room we made has a fire ring in the middle, evergreens on one side, and a row of lilacs on the other side. I mow slower when I go by the lilacs. They smell like spring!

Lilacs!

Lilacs!

The campfire room

The campfire room

The back portion of the yard is an open field – ready for a game of baseball, croquet, or badminton. The fun of mowing this section is having the barn swallows swoop down to catch the bugs frightened by the mower. Sometimes, they come so close you can feel the breeze of their flight.

Most of the blossoms were off of my pear and cherry tree, but I enjoyed the view of my brother’s trees which were still in full bloom.

Cherry tree in the front with apple tree behind it

Cherry tree in the front with apple tree behind it

"Cherry pink and apple blossom white"

“Cherry pink and apple blossom white”

Trees! I’ve loved them since I learned to climb them as a little girl. In fact, I spent most of my time in trees growing up – from reading books, to doing homework, to spying on my brother and his friends. Here are some lovely specimens from my back yard.

A beautiful Linden

A beautiful Linden

Linden leaves look like hearts

Linden leaves look like hearts

Strangely shaped Blue Spruce

Strangely shaped Blue Spruce

A perfect Blue Spruce Christmas tree

A perfect Blue Spruce Christmas tree

In 1994 I received 12 sticks in a plastic bag from the Arbor Society. Three of those sticks survived and have grown into rather large Blue Spruce. Birds love to build their homes in these trees and I love the character they give to the yard. Only a masterful Creator can turn sticks into such large and beautiful trees! And, they aren’t done growing!

One of my favorite parts of spring is finding which flowers have decided to return. I don’t always remember where I planted bulbs or plants and I’m surprised when I discover them. I was surprised by a dwarf white iris blooming beside the house. I don’t think the person from whom I purchased the plant knew it was white! My favorite flower has always been violets – I love their waywardness, growing here and there, surprising people with their smiling faces.

Here are some other flowers I discovered.

Vinca, violets, ferns, primrose

Vinca, violets, ferns, primrose

Forget-Me-Not

Forget-Me-Not

Dwarf Iris

Dwarf Iris

Sweet Woodruff  (The thistle is not supposed to be there.)

Sweet Woodruff (The thistle is not supposed to be there.)

Red tulips

Red tulips

Violets

Violets

Our world is so full of beauty and variety – how can I keep from praising the Creator?

For the beauty of the earth
For the glory of the skies,
For the love which from our birth
Over and around us lies.

Lord of all, to Thee we raise, This our hymn of grateful praise.

For the beauty of each hour,
Of the day and of the night,
Hill and vale, and tree and flower,
Sun and moon, and stars of light.

Lord of all, to Thee we raise, This our hymn of grateful praise.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

