All That Glitters

I am too much of a neat freak to like glitter. Even as a child I was annoyed when the glitter stuck to me rather than to the art project at school. No one can control glitter which means that if you come within two feet of the stuff, you will eventually be told, “You have glitter on your nose.” I hate that.

Last summer in VBS I helped with the Kindergarten class – a rather wild bunch plus a couple sweet, calm little girls. The first night I was a little overwhelmed. I haven’t really been around younger kids for a few years. As I tried to get my end of the table under control, I looked at the little boy sitting next to the other leader. He had successfully dumped a tube of glitter on the table in front of him and was swirling his fingers in it. In horror I jumped up, ran, and grabbed his hands, shaking glitter from them. Then I noticed the pile of glitter on the floor. I looked at Dave (the other leader) and he took the boy to the bathroom to get cleaned up. I started sweeping up glitter. By this time, the rest of the table was quite rowdy. We eventually got things under control, but I still see stray glitter at times shining from different places in the church.

I do love the glitter affect, however. And that’s exactly what I saw driving into work yesterday. The world was covered with ice and as the sun shone through – everything sparkled. The oak trees in my back yard were weighted down and made a soft clinking sound as they moved in the breeze.

HPIM1975

 

The grass was covered with ice and crunched when I dropped my camera.

HPIM1982

 

It also gave clues as to who has been walking in my yard.

HPIM1980

 

Simple items became fascinating sculptures.

 

 

HPIM1973 HPIM1977

 

The drive to work was beautiful. With the sun shining bright and clear, ice glittered on the fence posts, wires, road signs, trees, everything was covered. I wanted to stop the car to sit and enjoy the beauty of God’s creation in winter!

I like that kind of glitter!

Job 37:10 “From the breath of God ice is made, And the expanse of the waters is frozen.”

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

