‘Tis the Season . . . for Laziness?

I must admit that this time of the year I tend to put off doing things. I often spend my evenings and weekends sitting in my comfy chair under a warm blanket reading a book and enjoying Christmas lights on the tree and on the mantle.

Is that laziness . . . or contentment?

I never seem to remember to leave my porch light on when I leave in the mornings. These days, that means when I look across the field from Main Street on my way home, I see a brightly lit home and star in the east and then a dark void and then another brightly lit home. So many neighbors have wonderful Christmas displays – the kind we used to drive around to see when I was a child. However, I’m the neighbor of the dark void. I’ve always wanted to have wreaths in my windows with a spotlight shining on them. I think that would go well with my little home. Without an outside electric supply, or a way to hang the wreaths, I settle for some dimly lit candles in the windows (if I remember to turn them on) and the dark void.

Is this laziness . . . or a more manageable electric bill?

I keep thinking I should go Christmas shopping. And I keep putting it off. I don’t see the need to waste energy looking for something to buy. I need to know what I want to buy so that it takes only a few moments to run in, purchase, run out and then be on my way home. I haven’t really figured out what to buy everyone yet, but when I do, I’ll make that shopping run – in/out/home – conserving energy.

Is this laziness . . . or more time in my comfy chair?

I don’t make cookies and candies anymore. I think about it, but don’t ever really make them. I’d love to have a variety of homemade goodies to take or to serve guests (should any happen to drop by). However, there is just one of me and to have all that sugar in lovely chocolate form would be a terrible temptation. You can’t just make one dozen cookies of this kind and one dozen of that kind. To have a variety of 10 kinds, think of the way-too-many-sweets I’d have to serve, give, or eat (while sitting in my comfy chair).

Is this laziness . . . or is this my way of escape? (see I Corinthians 10:13)

There are always so many fun things to do this time of year: A special night on the Washington Square, Messiah concert, A Grace Family Christmas, candlelight walk at Forest Park Nature Center, Christmas Tour of Homes, Poinsettia Show at Luthy Botanical Garden, Christmas open house shopping and lunch with friends. I like those that don’t require tickets or planning. If I feel like going, then I will. If I don’t feel like going, I’ll stay home and read my book in my comfy chair.

Is that laziness . . . or a better way to fight busyness?

May your Christmas Season be one of joy and peace and contentment.

“In the same region there were some shepherds staying out in the fields and keeping watch over their flock by night. And an angel of the Lord suddenly stood before them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them; and they were terribly frightened. But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of great joy which will be for all the people; for today in the city of David there has been born for you a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. This will be a sign for you: you will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.” And suddenly there appeared with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying, “Glory to God in the highest, And on earth peace among men with whom He is pleased.” Luke 2:8-14

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

