God Is in the Details

Recently I’ve heard the phrase ‘the devil is in the detail’ used several times and I started wondering what it meant. One explanation is that when people use this phrase, they are saying that overlooking the small things when planning can cause serious problems later on. One website explained that “The devil is known for always make (sic) life difficult for man in many small ways.” (I tend to disagree with the word small in this statement.)

The deeper I thought, the more I realized that the more correct phrase for me is “God is in the details.” Each day I see God’s hand in my life and in the lives of others. I can give many examples of His attention to detail.

A friend shared that as the daughter of a relative was speaking on the phone to her mother about an upcoming surgery and her concerns and fears, a woman nearby overheard the conversation. When the call ended, this woman came over and said that she’d had the same surgery and that she had not had any subsequent difficulties. God was in the detail.

Sunday as I drove to church I looked right to determine if it was safe to turn. I watched a deer run across the road and down into the creek. The surprise brought a smile to my face.

Attending a recent community gathering, my daughter had moments to reconnect with her best friend from fifth grade and other classmates. What a joy to remember and hug old friends.

As I came into the kitchen early one morning and started to wash the dishes, a squirrel sat atop the wood stacked right outside my window. He came closer to the window to look at me as I leaned in to look at him! I laughed with joy to see him so close and he didn’t even run away.

A pipe in the basement rusted through and as it was repaired, the dryer vent and pipe had to be removed. This was a great time to clean it out – and it was badly needed as it was almost clogged and was definitely a fire hazard.

The annual camp conference I attend is held at a different place in the country each year. This year it was in Tampa, Florida which just happens to be close to where my niece is now living. We enjoyed spending some time visiting on a beautiful beach – an extra special detail God provided.

Walking through the Tampa airport a security lady opened a new lane for my daughter and me to walk through quickly and avoid a very long line. She had seen me limping (my knee) and wanted to make it easier for me. God knows what we need even when we don’t ask!

I don’t believe in coincidence. I do believe in God who gives good gifts to His children. My heart is filled with thankfulness.

“So it is that in His own wondrous ways our Father works behind the scenes to draw us to Himself. As someone said to me just a short time ago, He never slumbers, He never goes on strike, and He never takes time out for coffee. He is always active on our behalf!

Little wonder that life with Him is so replete with sudden surprises, joyous interludes, and deep delight. What an adventure to have Him share our days and fill our hours with beautiful bonuses of His design!

In wonder, awe, and humble gratitude we bow our spirits and give Him honor with thanksgiving.” from Pleasures Forevermore by Phillip Keller

 

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

