Dryness, Drought, and Determination

Drought.

A period of dry weather, especially a long one that is injurious to crops.

Not just dry.              Hot.                  Hotter.                  Hottest.

And I’m tired of it.

I long to turn off the air conditioner and open my windows. To feel a gentle breeze and hear cheerful birds. To hear the rumble of thunder in the distance and wait for the rain to arrive. I would love to sit and watch the rain pummel the earth with large drops creating puddles for the birds. I want to be able to walk outside again without being hit by a wall of heat that takes my breath away.

I want lightning strikes to the earth to look awesome but fizzle rather than flame into uncontrollable wildfires. I want clouds to empty themselves of raindrops rather than drift slowly away taking shade and hope with them.

I want to feel the energy I feel when cooler temperatures arrive. I want to drive by fields of green without brown fringes. I want to see my farmer friends laugh and smile. I want to walk barefoot through soft green blades of grass. I want to feel life and joy again instead of taking one heavy step in front of the other just trying to survive.

I want to mow my grass and watch the barn swallows swoop for bugs. I want to smell the damp earth and see the garden produce healthy vegetables. I want the trees to be full and green rather than dropping brown, bug-chewed leaves. I want things to be fresh again.

We have enough water to quench our thirst. We have air conditioners to keep us cool in our homes and in our cars. We can survive in man-made comfort. But I want to live again – outside in the beauty of God’s world. I feel the stress of creation; I hear creation groan as it waits for rain. I long for the Lord to send rain and shower us with His blessings. Rain. Water. Refreshing. Life-giving.

It may be too late for some of my flowers and shrubs. The burning sun coupled with parched soil has taken its toil on things once beautiful. My soul feels the dryness as well. Life seems to parallel weather as tasks and trials sap energy from me – as I thirst for times of refreshment. As my soul longs to sit in the shade of God’s love and feel the breeze of His peace.

And so I will dig deep to find refreshment and rejoicing. For as my Savior said, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”

Living water.

In me. 

My drought is over.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

