Moments on Mother’s Day

This has been a great Mother’s Day weekend. Despite all the things I needed to accomplish, the weekend has been filled with precious moments of contentment. Of feeling loved. Of the joy of being Mom.

Saturday morning I took the money from piano lessons that I’d been saving and I bought myself a present. New furniture for the deck. With four of us in the family now (This was my first Mother’s Day as a mother-in-law) I look forward to sitting around this table enjoying time together as a family. (If I could just get them to come home more often!)

Come over for a chat!

Karrie came in the afternoon and we enjoyed some time getting our hair done and shopping in Eureka. Objects is a store where I find all kinds of things I’d like to buy. It is like walking into a Pinterest store! Here’s my container garden:

Sweet Basil, Boxwood Basil, Rosemary and flowers.

A closer look

Kate was home last weekend, but this weekend she and Karrie gave me a corsage to wear to church this morning. It was a sweet way to remember Gramma and to honor me, as the flowers where white. Tradition says to wear a pink flower if your mother is living, a white flower if your mother is no longer living.

After church, knowing I wouldn’t wear the corsage again, I dismantled it so that I could enjoy it all week.

White rose, button mums, and baby’s breath

Just like Kate last week, Karrie helped with several chores around the house, we enjoyed special conversations, and shared many hugs. Rob took time to call from New York as he has a business trip there this week. My life is very full.

This morning as the birds woke me up, I lay in bed and thought about my life. I started the day thanking God for the wonderful gifts He’s given me in my daughters and now with my son-in-law.

I’ve done a bit of reading, a bit of napping, and a bit of working today. Sitting on the couch I looked out my window and realized how much I love my home.

Blue delphinium starting to bloom

And I am content.

 “The fear of the Lord leads to life;
    then one rests content, untouched by trouble.”   Proverbs 19:23

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

