Surprise!

Ever have one of those days? Not one where everything goes wrong, but one where some little thing made you so happy it stuck with you all day long. Way in the back of your mind, a happy thought changed the way you looked at your day.

Most people would say I have a green thumb – with outside plants. I love to garden, but only when God sends the sunshine and the rain. Left to me, indoor plants either get too much water or too little, too much sun or not enough.

So, I thought I’d killed my orchid. Purchased on a whim at Kroger last February (2011), it reminded me of Hawaii. In the little town of Kapa’a, through a gate into a side alley you walk into a world of color and beauty – the Orchid Shop. They will ship them anywhere in the world. But, I figured before I spent significant money on a unique orchid, I should see if I could keep one alive. The one I bought said to just put three ice cubes on top of the soil once a week. How tough could that be?

After a couple months, the blooms fell off and I was left with sticks. Carefully reading the instructions, I trimmed back the branches and waited. And waited. And waited. It’s been almost a year. Don’t you think something should have happened within that time? I feared the worst, having missed a few weeks of ice cubing the soil and watching one of the stems dry up and die.

This morning as I walked into the library, I glanced back and saw something that looked a little strange. So I looked closer. And . . .

Can you see the buds?

I’ve been smiling ever since!

“The desert and the parched land will be glad; 
   the wilderness will rejoice and blossom. 
Like the crocus, it will burst into bloom; 
   it will rejoice greatly and shout for joy. 
The glory of Lebanon will be given to it, 
   the splendor of Carmel and Sharon; 
they will see the glory of the LORD, 
   the splendor of our God.”  Isaiah 35:1-2

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

