The Promise of Spring

Many months ago we were warned that this was going to be a bad winter. Harsh. Cold. Lots of snow.

Someone goofed.

We have endured a rather mild winter that did not offer snow for Christmas nor many days of bone-chilling temperatures. I love snow and wouldn’t have minded more snow to cover the dull brown of winter. On February 5, I drove about two hours west of home to play the piano for a small church near Macomb, Illinois. As I drove the long straight highway, V-formations of geese stretched ahead of me flying North. Hundreds of geese who knew what they were doing.

And this week, I noticed the geese are back at the pond – a sure sign of spring. With great expectations, each day I will see the sad brown turning to spring green. Spring flowers, already halfway up because of a recent warm spell, will soon bud and then burst into color bringing a smile to my face! First the snowdrops, then crocus, daffodils, jonquils, tulips, wild violets, and eventually lilacs and forsythia.

Rains will come. Thunder and lightning will announce the heavy rains. After each shower, the grass will seem greener. Mud will get deeper and the earth will drink it in. In-between the storms, farmers will be turning the fields to deep oceans of black dirt, planting soybeans, corn, and pumpkins. Gardners will begin planting the seeds and plants they’ve been circling in the catalogs all winter long. Trees will begin to bud and preen in the new spring garments of green. A few will bloom first in pink, purple, and white flowers.

And it will seem that the earth has come back to life.

Even my body and soul will feel a burst of new life as I walk the yard and neighborhood without bundling up, ss I plant my seeds and starter plants. I cannot help but think of God as I watch His creation reveal His creativity, His beauty, His steadfastness.

Hosea 6:3 “So let us know, let us press on to know the LORD. His going forth is as certain as the dawn; 
And He will come to us like the rain, Like the spring rain watering the earth.”

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Promise of Spring

  1. Sarah says:

    Yes, I am so excited for spring! I didn’t do much gardening last year with my pregnant belly in the way, and I can’t wait to get back out there again this year.

Leave a Reply

