When Life Gets Strange

Apparently, I love routine and being in a rut. When life throws me new opportunities, I often like to throw them back. I am not an adventurous sort of person. In my head I am, but not in real life. So, I find it rather strange when I do things so completely opposite of me.

My car radio is tuned to WBNH, the Moody Radio station in my area. Midday Connection airs at noon and I began listening to it as I ran errands over my lunch hour or sat in line at Culver’s for a salad. I grew to enjoy the ladies that host the show and felt like I knew them. I ‘liked’ their Facebook page and even started responding when they asked questions – on the show and on Facebook. One particular Friday they were having such fun on the Milrose Club (the Friday edition of programming) that I thought it would be fun to be a part of a group like that.

A couple weeks ago they posted a message on Facebook: Would you like to join a Millrose Club discussion? If you live in Chicagoland and are interested in being on the program with us, please send an email to midday@moody.edu and tell us what you would enjoy talking about! (we will have an opportunity in the next few weeks for a listener to join us on the program!) Without really thinking I e-mailed them back, laughingly saying I’d drive two and a half hours to meet them. And then it happened. They responded and invited me to come up to record a Milrose Club with them.

And I wondered what on earth I had done.

Amazed at how the details worked out, I drove up last Saturday morning and spent the weekend with Karrie, Rob, and Kate. I visited Kate’s new church – a baptismal service and excellent preaching. We enjoyed some shopping and quiet time just being together as family. On Monday morning Kate picked me up (she took the day off work) and we drove to Karrie’s school where I read a chapter from The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe to her class of third graders. She has great kids and they all love Mrs. Zanetti! From there Kate drove us downtown to Third Coast for lunch. And then we went to Moody Radio.

Sitting around a table with headphones on, a huge round microphone in front of your face does not make it seem like a friendly chat – like it does when you listen on the radio. And when the music cued I got nervous. I know people were praying for me, but my brain said “This is it! Don’t be stupid!” and my voice wavered and I was scared! Eventually the ladies drew me out and I know I talked. For the life of me, I can’t remember all that I said. So there is a big part of me (called pride) that wonders how it’s going to sound when they air the show. The voice of reason is saying that God is in control, He wasn’t scared, and I need to trust Him! It encouraged me when my boss said he always thinks afterward of what he should have said, or how he should have said something. That’s exactly how I feel! I do hope that what I said will be an encouragement to someone. I did enjoy meeting Lori, Anita, and Melinda. It’s fun, now, to know which voice goes with which person.

After the recording we took pictures, hugged good-bye (the ladies there are huggers) and Kate took me to see her office, which is only a few blocks away, and to meet some of her co-workers. I liked walking around the building looking at the views of Chicago from 31 floors up. With Lake Michigan right outside the window, I’m afraid I’d never get my work done. From there we drove home and my insides started to unwind. After a delicious supper with Kate, I drove home, leaving behind the big city and my family.

Arriving back home at 9:30 pm Monday night, I was exhausted and ready to put life back in order – get back in the rut. I’m thankful for where God has me in life, and I’m also thankful for the many opportunities He sends my way – even when He has to push me to do them. Even when life gets strange.

Jeremiah 29:11 ” For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”

I wonder what’s next.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

