Adopted into Royalty

I enjoy reading biographies and so I picked up a couple at the Washington Library sale last fall. This past week I began reading Ever After: Diana and the Life She Led by Anne Edwards.

Edwards researched and interviewed the events and people in Diana’s life, compiling it into an insightful and interesting book. Although she was the Princess of Wales, Diana did not live happily ever after. Of course, it is easy to look back and see how events, relationships, and emotions could have been handled differently. One of the most insightful observations was the difference between Charles, His Royal Highness, and Diana as a non-royal.

As a teenager, Diana supplemented her income “cleaning the lavatories and laundering the sheets at Sarah’s flat.” (Sarah was her sister.) She also enjoyed laundering and ironing shirts for one young man she dated. Compare this to Charles whose “every wish was pandered to, his orders instantly carried out by fawning staff. He demanded deference and received it.” This difference made his expectations of her unattainable. And yet he based his expectations on what he knew “his own insular royal background . . . duty had come before any other consideration: he had kept personal problems private, illness had been sublimated, and respect for the monarchy always upheld.”

I was mulling these things over in my mind as I cleaned my own lavatory the other day. (Nothing like scrubbing behind the toilet to remind you that you are not royalty.) But, then, I remembered that I am royalty. I am the daughter of the King of Kings. And I wondered if those of us who have been raised in Christian homes, or have been adopted into the King’s family for years, sometimes act the same way Charles did.

Do I forget the wonder of being adopted into the royal family? To have the honor to call the King, “Abba” or “Daddy”?

Have I forgotten that it is a privilege to come before the throne of Grace? Do I take it for granted?

Am I no longer amazed that I am an heir of God? Joint-heir with Christ?

Have I forgotten my duty, or worse, do I no longer want to please the King by doing as He commands?

Do I use my position in the family to say that “I can do what I want?”

Have I forgotten to not only love the King, but to honor Him with my life?

“Heavenly Father, never let me lose my wonder that You have adopted me into your family and with it given me the rights and privileges of being Your child. Teach me the joy of humility and create in me a desire to welcome new members to the family. Help me love them, and be patient with them, as they learn the amazing depth of Your love.”

Romans 8:15-17  For you have not received a spirit of slavery leading to fear again, but you have received a spirit of adoption as sons by which we cry out, “Abba! Father!” The Spirit Himself testifies with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, heirs also, heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him so that we may also be glorified with Him.”

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

