Labor of Love

I’ve been practicing Christmas specials for some time now. Christmas carols are difficult to play because many have a minor tone or are written in a minor key. This minor influence often reminds me of the sorrow mixed with the joy of Christ’s birth. Lovely nativity sets do not show us the true picture of Christ’s Advent.

I suppose that is why I appreciate Andrew Peterson’s Labor of Love. He tells such a true picture of love and of pain, of fear and of joy in his song:

It was not a silent night
There was blood on the ground
You could hear a woman cry
In the alleyways that night
On the streets of David’s town

And the stable was not clean
And the cobblestones were cold
And little Mary full of grace
With the tears upon her face
Had no mother’s hand to hold

It was a labor of pain
It was a cold sky above
But for the girl on the ground in the dark
With every beat of her beautiful heart
It was a labor of love

Noble Joseph at her side
Callused hands and weary eyes
There were no midwives to be found
In the streets of David’s town
In the middle of the night

So he held her and he prayed
Shafts of moonlight on his face
But the baby in her womb
He was the maker of the moon
He was the Author of the faith
That could make the mountains move

It was a labor of pain
It was a cold sky above
But for the girl on the ground in the dark
With every beat of her beautiful heart
It was a labor of love
For little Mary full of grace
With the tears upon her face
It was a labor of love

I’ve thought about these words as I’ve practiced for an upcoming offertory. Mary was a young peasant girl. Joseph a carpenter. They were no different than any of us. Yet God chose them to serve as the parents of His Son, Jesus. And they served with love.

God has asked me to serve Him, too. Is my service a labor of love? In the difficult times, through the pain, do I still serve with love? Do I bring glory to God at all times with my life?

“Teach me, LORD, the way of your decrees, that I may follow it to the end.
Give me understanding, so that I may keep your law and obey it with all my heart. 
Direct me in the path of your commands, for there I find delight. 
Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain. 

Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word. 
Fulfill your promise to your servant, so that you may be feared. 
Take away the disgrace I dread, for your laws are good. 
How I long for your precepts! In your righteousness preserve my life.”  Psalm 119:33-40

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

