Lessons Remembered On My Way To Work

I’ve been away serving at a girls’ camp for the past week. Away from work and from the world. So it wasn’t easy to step back into my car on Monday morning and head to the office. My heart and my head just weren’t into it. Each day, however, I’ve learned (or remembered) a lesson on my way to work.

This is my garden on the north side of my garage. I worked hard in 98 degree heat several weeks ago to weed, mulch, and edge this garden. Preparing and packing for camp as well as the week away has left the garden unattended. Lesson: weeds grow in heat and drought. Don’t leave them unattended.

Simple comparison: The garden is my life. Heat are trials. Drought describes the times when I’m too busy read my Bible, fellowship with believers, or pray. Weeds are sin. It doesn’t take long for little sins to grow tall and sink roots in a drought. Droughts are often of my own making.

Hosea 6:3 “So let us know, let us press on to know the LORD. His going forth is as certain as the dawn; And He will come to us like the rain, Like the spring rain watering the earth.”

This is Ameren CILCO. They are doing some kind of roof repairs. What caught my eye was the red flags. At first I wondered, “Why?” and then I realized that the flags are a warning to the workers about where the edge of the roof is located. The flags say, “Don’t get too close!” Falling off a roof is dangerous. If you noticed, the flags are not located right at the edge of the roof, but a little way in from the edge. This means if they do get too close to the flag and stumble, there is still room to catch them and keep them from falling.

Simple comparison: Christians often wonder how far they can go until something becomes a sin. They often go beyond the red warning flags and then wonder why they have fallen. Let’s learn to see the red flags and keep safe – not as far as we can go – but as close as we can stay by our Savior.

Jude 1:24-25 “Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy, To the only wise God our Saviour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.”

I love how the Queen Anne’s lace and blue cornflowers grow randomly wild along the cornfields and roads. To some, they may be weeds. To others, beauty. “Beauty isn’t in the eye of the beholder as much as beauty exists for those who have the eyes to see it.” Lesson: Take time to see it.

Genesis 1:31 “God saw all that He had made, and behold, it was very good. And there was evening and there was morning, the sixth day.”

 

Look closely. There’s another warning sign. I saw it last night but ignored it. You can only ignore warnings so long before they become a problem. Lesson: Don’t put off till tomorrow what you need to do now!

Psalm 118: 23-24 “This is the LORD’S doing; It is marvelous in our eyes. This is the day which the LORD has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

