Make The Days Count

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. . . Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:12 & 14                                                          

How many days ago did I hear giggles coming from the backseat as my daughters played while we took road trips to see the cousins? Little girls talking about little girl things, playing with Peaches–N-Cream Barbies and planning a Barbie and Ken wedding?

It seems like only a few years ago. But here I am in the backseat as my daughters talk in the front seat about grown up things and discuss the plans for a Karrie and Robert wedding to take place in just a couple days.

How did that happen?

Time flies. There were days when the girls were growing up that I thought would never end. There were moments when they were little where I wished that I could stop the clock and hold onto that day forever. Each new day the Lord gives is precious. I wish I could remember them all.

Nothing makes you think back more than a major event in life. The best wisdom my mother ever shared with me was when I complained about all the basketball games I had to attend week after week to support my two cheerleaders. Everything else went on hold as I drove to just about every small junior high and/or high school in Central Illinois. Some weeks a game was held every evening (except Wednesday) with more on Saturday. I was exhausted and tired of cheering. Mom in her wisdom said, “Enjoy it now. Someday it will end and you’ll wish for these days back again.”

Mom was right.

So, I tried to make every day count.

In Psalm 90 David speaks of our days in comparison to God Eternal. Our lives are just a breath span of time given to us by God. Our days are numbered by Him. And our response should be to make the days count. Today, let us live to honor God.

Teach us to count the days
Teach us to make the days count
Lead us in better ways
That somehow our souls forgot
Life means so much                            Chris Rice, Life Means So Much

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

