Remembering Colorado

Most people who know me now know very little about one part of my life. Although I was born in Illinois and have lived most of my life in Illinois, there was a short span of time when I lived in Colorado. And I loved it.

My first 2.5 years of college were spent in the foothills outside Denver, Colorado, at Western Bible College. For a girl who grew up in the flatlands of the Midwest, I loved the mountains. I loved the snow. I loved everything about Colorado. The best date I ever had was jeeping in the mountains. I still remember the thrill of bumping over roads on the side of the mountain. Or, at least, I think it was a road. I was too young to be scared when we did a three-point turn on the side of a mountain and the three passengers had to lean out the side of the jeep so it wouldn’t roll. (What were we thinking?)

This past weekend I was able to enjoy a little bit of Colorado as I accompanied my oldest daughter to check out the area around Vail. We enjoyed the views of snow in the High Country, the blue skies, the white fluffy clouds, the wildflowers, the aspen, the joy of being in God’s creation, and the joy of being together.

And I remembered.

As newlyweds, Rich and I would take off on weekends to explore, fish, hike, and camp. How I loved the serenity of the mountains. How often they reminded me of God’s Word.

The aspen trees have small round leaves that quiver and quake in the mountain breezes. They are often called “quakies” because of the noise they make. I am reminded of Isaiah 55:12 ““For you will go out with joy And be led forth with peace; The mountains and the hills will break forth into shouts of joy before you, And all the trees of the field will clap their hands.” I think the aspen are practicing for that day of joy!

As you travel any road through a canyon or valley, a stream will probably be rushing by, carrying melted snow to the reservoirs to provide water for the people of Colorado. Especially in the spring, the run off will be icy cold, and fast, and plentiful.

John 7:38 “He who believes in Me, as the Scripture said, ‘From his innermost being will flow rivers of living water.’”

The High Country – for most of the year it wears white, reminding you that it is very high country.

Psalm 121:1-3 “I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come? My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.  He will not allow your foot to slip; He who keeps you will not slumber.”

The mountains remind me of the majesty and power of God. And when I remember, I find it easier to trust Him with every detail of my life. At one time I looked out of my windows every day and saw the mountains. Even after 3 years of living in the mountains, I never looked without seeing them, without remembering that God had created them . . . and me.

Colorado is where I went through the happiest and the hardest times of my life. It is where I learned that God is faithful.

Psalm 89:1 “I will sing of the lovingkindness of the LORD forever; To all generations I will make known Your faithfulness with my mouth.”

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering Colorado

  1. Robert says:

    Amen Mom. That was wonderful to read. I am thrilled to hear you remember — and to remember it lovingly. My love of Colorado was always of the landscape. Coming from flat Long Island, NY I never knew the majesty of the peaks. For me, nature exploded in the foothills and the mountains. I always found an extraordinary peace there, one I still do not yet have in my everyday today. There is one location that for the first time had me connecting with something far greater than just the beauty of the mountains and nature; connecting with something other than my just being captivated by my surroundings and desire to run and climb every mile of it (when I was younger and able enough to actually do so — now my running days are past). I didn’t have any God sense back then, but believe now that is what I was connecting with. In just a few weeks’ time I hope to take Karrie there and share that experience with her. Amen to remembering the mountains.

Leave a Reply

