lambs, sheep, and the Shepherd

Driving through the countryside there is nothing more picturesque than a flock of sheep grazing on a green hillside. Part of my enjoyment of looking at sheep comes from knowing the scriptures which talk about believers as sheep and Jesus as our Shepherd. Can there be a better mental picture of the relationship between sinner and Savior?

Many years ago when my girls were little we visited friends who lived on a farm and who had sheep. One of the little lambs had been rejected by her mother and Alice had to bottle feed her to keep her alive. I will never forget how we went to the fence and saw a mob of sheep within the pen and partway into the barn.

Alice yelled the little lamb’s name and the cutest little lamb came tearing out from the barn, bleating as she ran up to Alice. That little lamb knew the voice calling her name was the one that had been feeding her all her life. And she was so happy and excited to hear her voice – you could see it in the way she ran and hear it in her voice.

I’ve had a phrase from a song by Jamie Slocum stuck in my head all week – “Sometimes I picture God that way . . .” As I think of that little lamb, I want that to be a picture of me running to God when I hear Him call my name. I want to hear His voice in the midst of all the other voices. I want to run to Him immediately. And I want Him to see how happy I am to be with Him.

John 10:27-28 “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:  and I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, and no one shall snatch them out of my hand.”

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

