A Mother’s Influence

In To Kill A Mockingbird, Scout states, “Our mom died when I was two, so I never felt her absence.” Never having felt the presence of her mother, she never felt the emptiness of her absence.

When young and irritated many of us vowed that we would never be like our mothers. And yet, as we age we see more and more of our mother in our words and actions. Somewhere in the breath of time it took to grow up, our mothers instilled in us the character that would be us. Good. Bad. Godly.

I am thankful today for a mother who loved her Lord, who shared His love and Word with me, and taught me the joy of pleasing Him. A mother who taught me to be generous not only with money, but with time. A mother who taught me to be kind, even when others are not being kind. A mother who shared her love of music and who sacrificed so that I would learn to play the piano. A mom who loved me unconditionally.

My mom stepped into the presence of the Lord almost 12 years ago and I still feel her absence. However, God has given me strong memories of fun, and tears, and wisdom, and love which seep into the corners of that absence and soften the bitter edges. Even as I make decisions today, I am aware of what mom would think – the advice she would give. And so, although I cannot feel her hugs, I can know her love.

And that is a blessing from God.

Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised. Give her the product of her hands, And let her works praise her in the gates. Proverbs 31:30-31


About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

