Joy In The Journey*

There is a joy in the journey. There’s a light we can love on the way.

There is a wonder and wildness to life and freedom for those who obey. 

Lately, I’ve been having some trouble finding joy in the journey. Life is flying by me and I just want to curl up on the couch under my blanket and sleep. Muscle aches. Back pain. Stiff. Sore. Sleepy. Tired. (Throw in Dopey and you’d have the Seven Dwarfs!) Every day seems to be a hard task. I don’t seem to have the energy to find joy.

To all who’ve been born in the Spirit and who share incarnation with Him

Incarnation – yes, that’s the part that is giving me the trouble.

Who belong to eternity stranded in time

That is exactly how I feel! Stranded in this physical body longing for eternity! Longing to see Him face-to-face! Longing to serve without the encumbrance of this body.

And weary of struggling with sin.

Weary of struggling with sin – and broken that I so often yield to the temptation without so much as a struggle.

Forget not the hope that’s before you and never stop counting the cost

Remember the hopelessness when you were lost.

I cannot fathom life without faith in Almighty God, my Creator, the great I AM, Jehovah Jireh. Perhaps the cost is pushing through the sorrow and the pain, the loneliness and the struggles to do what He asks. What does He ask?

There is a joy in the journey. There’s a light we can love on the way.

There is a wonder and wildness to life and freedom for those who obey.

He asks for obedience.

Hebrews 5:8-9 “Although He was a Son, He learned obedience from the things which He suffered. And having been made perfect, He became to all those who obey Him the source of eternal salvation.”

Heavenly Father, help me learn obedience through the trials and let me consider them all – joy in the journey.

*Words by Michael Card



About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

