The Joy of Knowing JoAnn

This morning a dear friend stepped into the presence of our Savior and Lord. Many times today tears have coursed down my cheeks and I wonder why I am so moved each time I remember.

I grieve because I know the pain her family feels. The sadness of personal loss even though we know she is whole and healed and happy. The sorrow of knowing that we will not see her smiling, cheerful face tomorrow. Or see a new piece of art. Or hear her willing “I can do that” when a need arises in the church family.

I cry because I am so blessed to have known her. I thank God for the testimony she has been to me through the years. JoAnn modeled servanthood. A gifted artist who was happy to serve in the church kitchen washing dishes. I remember the joy she had serving at our Women’s Retreats. I remember her willingness to lead our Ladies’ Missionary meetings even though she felt unqualified. I remember her generous heart. I remember her passion for her family and for her friends to know her Savior. I remember her love of the old hymns and her joy each time I played Great Is Thy Faithfulness or The Solid Rock.

One of the strangest things about losing a loved one in death is to walk outside and see the sun shining. To see the flowers blooming. To hear the birds singing. Don’t they understand that the world should be grieving? In time, we learn that it is the faithfulness of God that keeps the sun shining, the flowers blooming, and the birds singing. He has given us a future and a hope. AndĀ despite the sorrow in our hearts, He waits for us to trust Him with each step we take out of grief and closer to the day of rejoicing when we all see Jesus.

My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness. I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

When darkness seems to hide His face, I rest on His unchanging grace. In every high and stormy gale, my anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood, support me in the whelming flood. When all around my soul gives way, He then is all my hope and stay.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand, All other ground is sinking sand.

All other ground is sinking sand.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Joy of Knowing JoAnn

  1. Janet Bowman says:

    Thank you so much for what you wrote about our friend, JoAnn. You echo my words about her. Usually, I do not have Chet read your posts in Deep Roots, but I did today. He said, “She did a very good job. Yes, a very good job.” Thank you so much for posting your feelings. We all will miss her. But someday, we will see her smiling face again.
    Janet

  2. Becky Pummell says:

    Lynnette, I always love your “Deep Roots.” This one made me cry as I grieve for Dick, Jan, Ann and the rest of the family as they feel the earthly pain of the physical loss of their precious wife, mother, and grandmother.

    I know that your friendship was a blessing to JoAnn as well. In the short visit we made together – not that long ago – to admire and purchase some of JoAnn’s beautiful handiwork, the friendship bond between the two of you was strong, evident and so sweet.

    Thank you for sharing the words to one of my favorite hymns as well. Our great God is enough – for all of our grief, for the weight of our sorrow and pain . . . . and our joy.

    One of my joys in life has been knowing you and your wonderful friends at Grace Bible Church. I’m so thankful we all share the same hope, the same joy, the same Lord

  3. Sarah says:

    A wonderful tribute to a wonderful lady.

  4. Janet says:

    Thank you for sharing this Lynette…you ministered to my heart!!

Leave a Reply

