The Bookcase

Over 35 years ago I bought a simple little bookshelf for $5.00 from a fellow student. I needed a place for all the books I was acquiring and she needed some cash. It was stained light brown, made of real wood (as opposed to pressed pieces of wood), and had three shelves of varying depths. This little bookshelf has been well used and well loved.

In college it held textbooks and mementos.

As a newlywed I stained it a darker brown and it held books and an 8 track tape player.

As a new mother, I painted it cream and it held children’s books and Fisher Price toys.

As the kids grew, I painted it blue and it held cookbooks and pictures.

As hobbies changed, I painted it green and it held garden books and collectibles.

And today, as the kitchen remodel continues, I painted it black and it will hold favorite books and family pictures.

Funny how you can look at a simple piece of furniture and have so many memories. Perhaps someday it will be sold at an auction and a college student will strip away all the layers of paint and stain it light brown so it can hold textbooks and mementos.

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bookcase

  1. If that book shelf could talk, Oh Boy! Looking forward to seeing it. Arta

  2. Sarah says:

    What a beautiful story! I love it.

Leave a Reply

