Things Change

Things change whether you like it or not. I would say most of the time, I’m a ‘not’. Except when it comes to my house. I like to change things around. Furniture. Decorations. Rooms.  It is a family trait.

The story is told in our family of my great-grandmother Stacey who liked to change things around. One night great-grampa came home late and didn’t want to disturb his wife who was sleeping soundly. He did not light the lamp and tiptoed to the bed to take off his shoes. As he sat down on the bed, he kept falling – all the way to the floor. “Stacey moved the bed again,” was all he said as he picked himself up and lit the lamp.

Needless to say, there’s a saying in my family. Dad would come home from work, walk in the door, and often mutter “Stacey moved the bed again.” as he looked around. He, however, was always careful to turn on the light before sitting on the bed.

I move my furniture for two reasons. First, I move the furniture to clean under it, so I might as well put it somewhere else and be reminded that it’s been cleaned. Second, I move the furniture for the seasons. In the winter, the bed goes in front of the window because I don’t need (or want) to open the window. The change of furniture makes more room and the rocker can come in from the living room so the Christmas tree can go up. In the winter, the couch sits directly across from the fireplace so I can lay on the couch and lazily eye the fire as I drift off to sleep. Sunday afternoon naps are a winter treat.

In the spring, the furniture moves so that when the birds are singing, and flowers blooming, and breezes breezing, I can open my window and enjoy it all. The rocker goes back to the living room and the couch moves across from the windows so that I can lay on the couch and lazily eye the birds in the bird bath, the flowers in the garden, and feel the breeze as I drift off to sleep. Sunday afternoon naps are a spring (and fall) treat.

I rarely take naps in the summer. This might be why I hate summer! No, wait. It’s the heat. Maybe it’s both.

I’m waiting rather impatiently to move furniture. I’m ready for spring. How about you?

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things Change

  1. Janet Bowman says:

    Not me! I am enjoying Texas, and I can be lazy if I want here. When I am back home, I feel like I need to be doing something all the time, Spring, Summer, Fall, or Winter. Yes, we do not leave until after Christmas. And God seems to decide to make December a cold month so I will definitely want to get away for awhile.
    I use to move furniture all the time. It felt like I had new furniture. But not anymore although I am looking forward in seeing my wood floor and new kitchen floor that we had put in right before Thanksgiving. I hated to leave my new floors until I went outside. Then I was ready to pack the camper and take off! Have fun moving furniture.

Leave a Reply

