hos·pi·tal·i·ty

I love my home. With all of its faults and unfinished-ness, I still love my home. My grampa and dad built the house back in 1951 – a typical 50s ranch-style home. Over the years we’ve changed the attached garage into a bedroom, added French doors and a deck, and made other minor improvements. After sixty years, things start to fall apart in a house. With the latest remodeling of the kitchen and new windows, this 50s ranch has entered the 21st century – or has at least gotten a little closer to it.

When mom passed away and I became responsible for the house and all its needs, I seriously questioned if I would be able to afford to stay in the house. God has been very gracious in His blessings and after twelve years I’m still here and the house has changed to reflect me. In thankfulness to God I desire to use my home to His glory. And so Lynnette’s Bed and Breakfast was created – where you make your own bed and make your own breakfast!

I’ve never been one to think that I had the gift of hospitality. I thought you needed a beautiful, immaculate, and large home. I have a cozy, lived-in, and small home. My home is so small that I find it difficult to seat more than six people in my living room. And yet, several years ago over 28 ladies came to my house for the first course of soup in a “mug run”. I had wall-to-wall people in my house and it was wonderful! I have precious memories of the ladies that came to my home that evening.

The definition of hospitality is: 1. the friendly reception and treatment of guests or strangers and 2. the quality or disposition of receiving and treating guests and strangers in a warm, friendly, generous way.

That means you don’t have to have a large home! In fact, warm and friendly is probably easier in a cozy room. And the definition of generous is “liberal in giving or sharing; unselfish.” Large and expensive are not required! So, once again, God is changing me; teaching me that I can do things I never thought possible.

There have been opportunities to have friends stay for weeks or months, missionaries for a weekend, and many overnights for camp friends. And through these times I have learned that my guests do not want me to be fixing gourmet meals (whew!), catering to their every need, or entertaining them constantly with witty conversation. (Another whew!) I’ve learned that we can have wonderful fellowship when cooking and cleaning up together. I’ve enjoyed quiet evenings of unhurried conversations with friends. I’ve learned to set aside my pride and allow guests to do their own laundry in my messy basement. I’ve learned to open my home even when it isn’t immaculate.

And I’ve been blessed.

1 Peter 4:8-10

Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins. Show hospitality to one another without grumbling.  As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace:

 

 

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

