Flea Warfare

Lately I have been in a war. The neighbors got a dog. The fleas found the dog. The dog shared the fleas with the yard. I walked through the yard. The fleas hitchhiked a ride and moved into a new catdominium. My cat. And, denial does not evict fleas. Nothing evicts them. You’ve just got to declare war.

Frontline, bombing raids, 24-hour pills, vacuuming, you name it, I’ve tried it. This is not a war you can win on your own. Call in reinforcements. Call the experts. Call for help.

Did you know that fleas can lay dormant for up to a YEAR?! They spread like crazy and will pounce, jump, or even leap on you! Are you starting to itch even as you read this? Feel something crawling up your leg?

I was thinking this morning about spiritual warfare. The kind Paul talks about in Romans 7 where we try to do good but sin wars within us and we do the very thing we don’t want to do! This, also, is not a war you can win on your own. Other similarities?

Sins in our lives can appear to be small or even invisible. So can fleas.

Left unchecked sins grow out of control and cause pain, misery, suffering. Just like fleas.

Sin and flea bites leave scars.

You can’t let them alone.

You can’t ignore them.

You can’t let them be.

Like fleas, sins can lay dormant for longer than a YEAR! I’ve been driving along minding my own business when someone cuts me off and BOOM – Where did that anger come from? I’m not an angry person. Well, I wasn’t till now.

So how do we battle the sins? Confession – admitting the sin. (You have to admit that the fleas exist.) Repentance – hating the sin and turning to God. (I certainly hate the fleas! Do I hate the sin as much?) Being vigilant – staying in the Word of God and in communication with the one who has had victory over sin! (I’m going to be working out each evening by vacuuming the rugs and furniture. My vacuum will be wearing a flea collar.)

Maybe even calling in reinforcements – praying for strength and wisdom. Calling in the experts – immersing yourself in God’s Word. Calling for help – asking friends to pray for you.

The experts say that you can get rid of fleas, but you have to be diligent and in it for the long haul. Eventually, you can be flea free.

God’s Words says “For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death.”

Free!

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

