How Big Is Your God?

In an old family movie I am 6 years old on a beach in California holding the hand of an adult cousin and watching the waves coming ashore. I am jumping up and down in anticipation with my wet pony tail flying. When the wave comes it completely covers me and then you see me coughing and spitting and gagging. I still remember the pull of the water, my grip on Judy’s hand, and the taste of salt.

When I was 9, my family went on vacation in Florida. I swam in the Atlantic Ocean and it turned my pink swimsuit purple. This was fine with me because I hated the color pink.

I have had many opportunities to enjoy the ocean and walk on beaches during my lifetime. I’ve even flown over the Pacific Ocean. It is amazing to see all that water. Wave upon wave. Constant rhythm.  While on a cruise, I stood on the deck of the ship and thought about the ocean surrounding me. In that water beneath me were innumerable fish and sea creatures of all colors, shapes, sizes, and dispositions. Perhaps there were even  ships down there. I couldn’t image all that lay under the waters’ surface.

When I consider vast things like the sky, the universe, or the ocean, my mind takes me to the One who created it. Here I am this tiny little person on this large cruise ship, which is sailing on this immense ocean. And how does God see the ocean? Like we would a cup of tea, perhaps?

God reveals himself as the Creator of the ocean in Job 38:8-11, 16  “Who enclosed the sea with doors, When, bursting forth, it went out from the womb; When I made a cloud its garment, and thick darkness its swaddling band, And I placed boundaries on it, and I set a bolt and doors, And I said, ‘Thus far you shall come, but no farther; and here shall your proud waves stop . . . Have you journeyed to the springs of the sea or walked in the recesses of the deep?”

Have you ever imagined God walking on the floor of the ocean? Or sitting on the top of Mount Everest? Or walking through the rain forest, stopping to smell the orchids He created? How big is your God? Have you put Him on the throne in heaven and left Him there so that He hears you when you call. Stop and meditate on the wonder of the Creator. Is He only your Heavenly Father and not Almighty God, Creator, King of kings, Lord of Lords, Righteous Judge? Has He become a God of your own making?

Too often we use words that should be God’s alone to describe something earthly. This lessens our ability to think differently about God. When my nephew described a recent ride on a roller coaster, he said it was, “Awesome!”

Really?

Awesome is walking on the water. Or maybe walking along the floor of the ocean.

How big is your God?

We need a right perception of God. While we cannot comprehend Him completely, He will reveal Himself to us. So, feel the pull of His love. Grip His hand tightly. Taste and see that He is good.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

