The New Kitchen

I love my new kitchen. It isn’t even done yet and I love it.  While I have always enjoyed cooking or baking, I haven’t exactly been known for my expertise, or even time spent, in the kitchen.

Twenty-eight years ago I moved into my mom and dad’s home with my two little girls. I very quickly learned that two women in a kitchen can be a source of stress and frustration. And so I stepped out of the kitchen and left the cooking to Gramma.

I must have been successful in stepping back. Everyone loves to tell the story of when Katie was three or four years old and Gramma and Grampa were leaving on a much deserved vacation. Katie was in tears. We thought it was because she didn’t want to be away from them. However, through her tears she sobbed, “We’re gonna starrrrrrve.” (Please read that sentence with desperation and despair for accuracy.) Gramma replied, “Your mommy can cook.” Katie answered with, “She cannnnn??????” (Please read with disbelief and wonder.) I believe later in the week she even admitted that I was a “good cook.” Of course, no one remembers that part of the story.

In the process of staying out of the kitchen I learned that there were other things that were a.) more important than cooking, b.) more fun than washing dishes, and c.) more needful than a batch of brownies. (Not necessarily as good as brownies, but more needful nonetheless.)  And so I still haven’t spent much time in the kitchen. But strange things are happening in my new kitchen. I enjoy being in it! I even (gasp) don’t mind washing the dishes. (For those of you who don’t realize it, not everyone has a dishwasher. I have a septic tank which cannot support a dishwasher and so I wash dishes by hand. For those of you who don’t know what a septic tank is – that’s another post.)

And so, despite the gasps and shock that this might cause, I’d like it to be known that since my kitchen became functional, I have baked two batches of very healthy muffins, a batch of chocolate chip cookies, and a pineapple upside down cake. I’ve had thoughts about making a batch of pecan sticky rolls (a specialty in my former life). A new kitchen just might mean a lot of new traditions and perhaps even a new way to serve.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

