Swinging through Life

I recently watched a video clip of a 7-year old missionary kid swinging and enjoying life. A visiting friend was taking the video and was asking her to speak in the language of the country where she lived. Everything was fine till she asked her to say, “We are going to the beach today.” The child continued to swing and started to say the phrase in English, when she stopped, took her hands off the chains, and began the phrase in the foreign language. Without her hands on the chains the forward momentum of the swing turned the child upside down – headed for a fall. My initial reaction was fear. However, I didn’t see the little strap that held her in the swing. The last view is of her hands spread to catch her when she fell. But, instead, she dangled above the ground till rescued. She was safe.

It was a perfect clip for Funniest Home Videos! What could have been a disaster became a reason to laugh – because of the little strap that held her firm.

I can’t help but think about how I am so often like that little girl swinging happily along in life. Multitasking. I get so distracted by tasks that I forget to enjoy the happiness of life. When I forget to enjoy the life that God has given me, my life turns upside down and I’m headed for a fall.

Thankfully, I am held in place by the strong hands of God.

Jude 1:24-25

Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy,

To the only wise God our Saviour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.

About Lynnette

A sinner saved by grace, adopted, and now a Child of the Living God. My greatest desire is to please my Heavenly Father in all that I say and do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

